First step : Stopover in Beijing

Publié le par Paumier

chin48143-bw.jpegBefore joining Korea I first had to make stopover in Beijing during 20 hours. I understood that 20 hours was a very long timeSo I took an hotel room directly into the airport (you pay on a per hour) to be able to take a showerget some rest and be able to ask my luggage the time that I visited some of the cityThe room was small but adequate, however it was a very poorly maintained collective shower (odors, dirt). But the good point : It was not very expensive of course.

On the plane I met a girl who had spent a week there and who advised me to visit the "Forbidden City" and Tian'Anmen SquareWith the Olympics, the airport serves very well the city thanks to a kind of large and modern subway line "ABC".

Then I took a taxiThis is where the problems started. Taxi drivers does not speak a word of English and they do not seem to understand my Chinese accent when I tried to pronounce the name of my destinationThis was a total misunderstandingAfter four failed attemptsI finally found a seller in a watch shop that could write me the name of my destination in Chinese on a piece of paper.

Regarding the visit in itselfI was rather disappointedThe "famous" place is actually a huge place but completely empty and uninterestingIn terms of the Forbidden Cityvery stately and impressive from the outsideit turns out because that day it was closed to visitorsNo luck. Moreover I found the Chinese very closed : As a foreigner they would not told me or helped me most of the time.

To conclude, I know that 20 hours it is really too short to discover a city and a country so rich culturally speaking but I stay however on a bad feeling of disappointment as regards Beijing. 

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article